Sometimes you end up with a bottle of Robert Mondavi

Robert Mondovi Fume Blanc

Robert Mondavi Fume Blanc

I try to support small and local businesses whenever I can. However, there are those times when you need a Target and Nordstrom’s (although, I do consider Nordy’s a local business!). Just like there are those time when you pick up a 2010 Robert Mondavi Fume Blanc. Which is what happened to me yesterday.  Let me explain.

It started off as an extremely rough morning, with my 3 1/2 year old in complete meltdown mode at 5:30 am. So much so that I had to cancel her long awaited play date because she was out of control and it was the only threat I could think of at 5:30 am. It was a threat that I had to follow through with. Which is horrible for me because it ruins my day as well. With that, my morning continued with screaming, tears and tantrums. Finally, I had it. My little “blessing” was going to make me insane if I didn’t get out of the house. So, I packed my sobbing 3 1/2  and 7 year olds (who get’s it. After watching her little sister get into trouble, was being an angel) into the car and headed to the gym. An hour of body pump class (with kids in the child care) would surely clear my head and give me a moment of peace.

After my class I was rejuvenated and I picked up the girls, who actually had smiles. Success!! But, that changed as we got into the car. This is the scenario which was repeated over and over the second I buckled my seat belt: “mom, can you turn on the radio?” “mom, can you turn on One Direction?” “Mom, can you roll down my window?” ” Mom can you roll up my window?” “Mom the music is to loud” “Mom I can’t hear the music”….. we haven’t left the parking lot.

I decided at that moment I needed a coffee to make it through the day. As I am driving to the coffee shop, the crying started again. This time, it was me telling them no at treats at the coffee shop; I just need a latte.

As I drug my sobbing kids into Café Vita on Phinney Ridge, I looked at the barista and asked if I could have a glass of wine. To which he replied “Mam, It’s 10:30 in the morning.” Oh, right.. “Ok just a double tall latte please.”

The rest of my day kind of went the same way. I was done come 4:00. I couldn’t stand it any longer, so I packed up the kids and went to Target. I knew I was shooting myself in the foot, but I had to go for a variety of reasons (toilet paper is an essential item). While I was aimlessly wandering about Target, throwing out “no’s” to my kids for every item they begged for (We don’t need another set of Muppet Band aids), I found myself in the wine isle. And as my kids were whining about needing more maple syrup (conveniently located on the same isle), I quickly grabbed a bottle of wine and headed to the check out stand before my head exploded.

The wine I chose: Robert Mondavi 2010 Fume Blanc (94% Sauvignon Blanc and 6% Semillon), $14.99. Now, maybe my judgment was tainted since I had an on-going headache since 6:00 am, but the wine was surprisingly pleasant. Actually, down right good. On a “normal” day, the thought of picking up a Mondavi wine would never cross my mind. I guess you could say I am a little judgmental with my wines. However, I am glad this happened. This was one of those happy mistakes. Maybe I should be thanking my tantrum-loving child. Nah…

Tasting notes: On the nose this wine had tropical fruit, peach and honeysuckle scent;  a favorable smell. Upon taste, it was even better. A nice balance of mineral and acid, enough to make the wine dance on your tongue. A huge difference from the New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc’s I tried last week. On the palate there was a peach, floral, honey suckle and slight cucumber taste. I really pleasant mixture in my mouth.

This wine had me eating my words (yes, in the past I may have said I would never drink a Robert Mondavi wine).. and I am the first to admit it. I even remarked to my husband that we should look into a case of this to keep on hand (to which he promptly reminded me of all the wine we have downstairs.. party pooper).

I think many of you would enjoy this wine as well, especially at the price. Mondavi can be found in most major stores: Safeway, QFC, Fred Meyer, Kroger and Target. I recommend a bottle of this wine, even if your children are behaving like angels.

Cheers to a new day today!!!

Leave a Reply

