What do you pair with a Chocolate Chip Cookie??

cookie and wineI had my final Food and Wine pairing class. I had to pair a food and wine. This is what I came up with…

Cooking is not my specialty. However if there is one thing I can do, it is bake chocolate chip cookies. I was curious as to what wine would pair with a chocolate chip cookie (Port, Muscat, etc), and after class and reading I made a pairing decision. For my wine-food pairing analysis I decided to pair my favorite baked good with a Moscato d’Asti. This is a Cascinetta Vietti 2012, Moscato d’Asti from Piemonte, Italy. I purchased the wine at The Grape Choice in Kirkland, WA for $13.99.

I am typically not fan of Moscato d’Asti. I find the sweetness of the wine overpowering by itself. With a chocolate chip cookie however, I figured it would be a balanced/complementary match since the wine is sweeter than the cookie (but both still sweet). A cookie can be matched with just about any dessert wine or sparkling. Sparkling sounded fun for this analysis and I wanted to give this wine another try. This is what led me to this particular pairing.

Sensory evaluation: There was a peach, slight grapefruit and rose on the nose of the Moscato d’Asti. It is yellow in color and slightly effervescent. There is only 5.5% alcohol and I would consider this a sweet wine (sugary, full, residual sugar and pleasant taste).
Upon tasting, I noticed the taste of residual sugar along with hints of peach and apricot. The wine had some acidity and good in balance. For me it was too sweet by itself, however when paired with the cookie, the sweetness level was masked by the cookie. The taste of the cookie wasn’t diminished and either was the flavor of the wine, but the feeling of sugar coating my mouth was reduced. It was almost like having milk with a cookie, the way it cleansed my palate. I thought this was an amusing pairing and would happy to serve this as a dessert to friends over for dinner or patrons in a restaurant

Leave a Reply

