Time for Bubbles

Bubbles, Champagne, Sparking Wine, Prosecco, Cava, etc. It doesn’t matter what your favorite is or what you call it…. just call it often. Even though I am strategically posting this blog this for the upcoming “Hallmark Holiday” (or what some people call it: Valentine’s day), I think that any time is bubble time. I always keep a bottle or two around for any occasion. Even if it’s a I- made- it- through- the- day occasion. It’s always a good idea to keep bubbles on hand. You never know when a glass will call your name…..

It has been a while since I have talked about bubbles, so I thought I would up-date you on a couple of my new favorites. I am not going to get into the differences between Champagne, Sparkling wine, Prosecco and Cava – because if you go back to Sept 2010 on A Wine Journey, you will find detailed descriptions. This is just a quick guide on two amazing bubbles to pick up for the Hallmark Holiday or (if you are me) any day of the week .One is a splurge and another is a mid-priced wine.

Tonights Tasting:

Pierre Peters Champagne Cuvee de Reserve Grand Cru

$54.99, The Grape Choice, Kirkland WA www.thegrapechoice.com

This growers champagne knows how to make good champagne. Pierre Peters has been making delicious bubbles since 1919 – and since then has been killing it with awards in France and the US. This wine is no disappointment. It’s made from Chardonnay grapes and is crisp, dry and dances on your tongue. It has the flavors of apples, apricots and minerals. It’s an intense and expressive Champagne.  At a growers champagne tasting, it was my favorite of the night. It may be a challenge to find, but if you call Perry at The Grape Choice (425-827-7551) in Kirkland, he will be able to find it for you! It’s worth the hunt and the price.. I guarantee you will love it.

Pierre Peter Champagne

Pierre Peters Champagne

Domaine Carneros by Taittinger – Napa Valley, CA

$27.00 www.domainecarneros.com

For a more reasonable treat, Domaine Carneros Brut is a such that…a delticable treat. I tend towards French Champagne’s and Cava’s, but this US sparkling wine is on my top 10 favorite bubbles list. It has crisp, mineral and citrus flavors that lingers in your mouth. It’s a classic sparkling wine made from both Chardonnay and Pinot Noir grapes. This wine can be found easier then Pierre Peters. I have seen it at most local wine shops, Whole Foods and of course, its website. I belong to the Domaine Carneros wine club and have not been disappointed in any wine that I have received.

Domaine Carneros

Domaine Carneros

Whether it’s Valentines day or a Tuesday, it’s always a good day for bubbles!! Pop a bottle open and remember to “Keep Calm and Drink Champagne.” Cheers!

Leave a Reply

