Drinking my words

A few months ago, I tried a Chilean wine and I was not a fan (check out my past blog). But, before I judged  just one bottle of wine, from one winery, I knew I would have to try a Chilean wine again. I was out to dinner one night, took a gamble and ordered the Chilean wine on the menu. Again, I was disappointed. I wanted to give up on the region all together… figured the taste and flavor didn’t mesh well with my palate. However, I was saved.. and now I must drink my words.

One of my co-workers introduced me to one of her friends, Cliff, about a year and a half ago. She figured I would have a lot in common with him. He is a Physical Therapist like my husband and he enjoy’s good wine like me.  Cliff was kind enough to invite us to his yearly wine party about a year and a half ago. I was blown away by this knowledge, collection and enjoyment of sharing his beloved wines. His knowledge surpasses mine and I envy his nose for wines. Even though I am a novice (and will be at his level someday.. I hope) he still reads my blog. He did not want me to give up on this South American country. He was very generous and sent me a bottle of wine from Chile.

All I have to say is vino sorprendente!! Gracias Cliff!

Tonights Tasting:

Concha Y Toro Don Melchor 2000 Cabernet Sauvignon (wine.com $41.99) – Wine Spectator 94 points (although, not the end all be all, but they are conservative with their points, so it must be a serious wine to receive that score)

At first smell, this wine is full of chocolate and plum. We let this wine decant for about 25 minutes, which I believe helped to open up. The smell of this wine only increased in richness, which also matched the taste. I tasted a little spice and coffee along with chocolate and plum. After a few more tastes, I also noted a smokey flavor. This wine far exceeds my expectations. I think I might have tasted heaven, or close too.

The price is not a bargain  and I am not even sure where you can buy it. According to wine.com this vintage is sold out. And I can see why. If you happen to stumble upon this wine, invest. I promise you will be in love at first sip. Plus, you will really impress wine and non-wine connoisseurs alike.

Muy hermoso el vino, disfrutar de!

Concha y Toro Don Melchor Cabernet Sauvignon 2000

Leave a Reply

