I have seen a Ghost

The Ghost of 413 a Red Blend from Columbia Valley. At first taste, all the moisture was pulled from my tongue. As I look at the bottle, it doesn’t say what the blend is. My guess is some sort of Cab blend – with the dryness and big bang flavor. I wasn’t sure of this wine, it took almost a half of glass for me to decide if I liked it or not. The smell and taste of this wine doesn’t match. The smell is full of berry and spice, but the taste has a woody, cherry, coffee flavor. It is a nice wine however, especially if you like a full bodied Cab. This isn’t my favorite wine, but if you are a fan of big, dry wines, or you like to try new things, you will enjoy this one.

Tonight Tasting:

The Ghost of 413 – 2007 Red Blend, Columbia Valley ($14.99  – QFC, Whole Foods, Metropolitan Market): 55% Cabernet Sauvignon, 33% Merlot, 12% Syrah

Limited cases of this wine – very big flavor. Not a 100% Cab, but has the big bang of one. I do not eat meat, but I can imagine this would taste very nice with a grilled steak or juicy prime rib. It you prefer a lighter red wine, or not a fan of red’s at all, steer clear of this. But, if you would like to shake up your taste buds a bit – give this wine a try. And remember not to judge at first taste. This one takes a while on your taste buds.

Happy Tasting!

http://giantwine.com/index.html

Leave a Reply

